Commission on Ministry


The Commission on Ministry helps and advises the Bishop on recruiting, discerning and training people for the various ministries and orders of ministry.

The ordination process forms a large part of the Commission’s work.  The Commission also oversees diaconal formation, continuing education for clergy and licensed lay leaders and mentoring for newly ordained clergy

Current Members

  • The Rt. Rev. Sean Rowe, Bishop of Western New York
  • Ms. Catherine Way, Chairperson – St. Luke’s, Jamestown
  • Ms. Beth Boron – St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Grand Island
  • The Rev. Terry Bull – Advent, Kenmore
  • The Rev. Canon Cathy Dempesy-Sims – Canon for Connections
  • The Rev. Karen Gough – Trinity, Lancaster
  • Mr. James Holton – St. Luke’s, Jamestown
  • The Rev. Wayne Knockel – St. Peter’s, Eggertsville
  • Ms. Shanna Matson
  • Mr. Lawrence Mazuchowski – Advent, Kenmore
  • The Rev. Deacon Leann McConchie – St. Paul’s, Harris Hill
  • The Rev. Deacon Cathy Smith – Chautauqua Deanery Deacon for Mission
  • Ms. Andrea Szymanski – St. Paul’s Cathedral, Buffalo