Episcopal Diocese of Western New York

Diocesan Council

Diocesan CouncilDiocesan Council exercises all of the powers of the Diocesan Convention between annual Conventions. Meetings occur monthly, September through June, on the third Thursday of the month, September through June at 6:00 p.m. at the diocesan office. Council consists of:

  • The bishop
  • 3 clergy representatives elected by Diocesan Convention
  • 6 lay representatives elected by Diocesan Convention
  • 3 persons appointed by the Bishop (including 1 youth representative)

Anyone who would like to bring a matter to Diocesan Council should contact Canon Cathy Dempesy-Sims (cdsims@episcopalwny.org).


Current Representatives

  • Mr. Wayne A. Blassingame (2021)
  • Mr. Bruce Davidson (2021)
  • Mr. Reid Heffner (2019)
  • The Rev. Canon Dr. Isaac Ihiasota (2019)
  • Ms. Cheri Maytum-Krull (2020)
  • The Rev. Bonnie Morris (2020)
  • Ms. Wendy Palmer (2019)
  • The Rev. Claudia Scheda (2021)
  • Ms. Sue Stanislawski (2020)

Ex Officio

  • Bishop R. William Franklin
  • Ms. Maria Manocchio (Financial Assistant)
  • Mr. Robert Matson (Treasurer)


Minutes of Council Meetings

September 2018
June 2018
May 2018
April 2018
March 2018
February 2018
January 2018
December 2017

November meeting cancelled
October 2017


Minutes of Diocesan Council meetings are posted once they have been approved by the Council, on a 12 month rolling basis.  Older minutes may be obtained from the Diocesan Office.